It’s No Yolk!

Today the weather in these ‘ere parts was noticeably cooler so a baking day was declared. Well,truth be told, whether the weather was fair or fowl, today was going to be a baking day, as I had made a promise that the recipe for my take on Jamaica Ginger Cake would be up by the end of the week.

I had the ingredients pretty much sussed, but it just needed a smidge of tweaking, plus I needed to work out accurate baking times. The children are always SO disappointed when I have to do this; they absolutely hate having a mass of cakes to scoff!

There was a lot of fun and excitement in the kitchen today, far more so than usual. Firstly I forgot to add in the bicarbonate of soda to the bowl but remembered just as I was about to put the tray into the oven. The whole lot, bar one for the sake of experimentation, was scooped out, the bicarb mixed in, spooned back into the tray, and then finally into the oven.

I had expected there to be some difference in the mini loaf that was sans bicarb, but I wasn’t expecting it to be so vastly different. See what I mean? Kitchen science ticked for today’s home ed (home schooling).

gluten_free_ginger_bread_bicarb_no_bicarb.JPG

The other ridiculously exciting thing was that I saw my first ever double yoke. And then my second. And third. And fourth. Oh, and…. fifth! I could not believe it, and the children were equally as impressed.

I’m not sure these double yokes are a good thing though… one of the loaves came out looking like the devil! I’m wondering if I can sell it on ebay and make my fortune… Hmm, too late, smallest child has eaten it!

Well, drum roll people…… Here’s the finished item for your delectation. Enjoy! I’d love to hear what you think if you give it a try.

TTFN – I’ve the washing up mountain to deal with.

Leave a Reply

