Paleo Preserves

This week I had a hankering for a jammy dodger! Actually I prefer the raspberry creams – pulling off the bottom layer of biscuit, scraping the cream filling off  with your teeth then nibbling on the jammy biscuit centre that remains… ok, I play with my food I’ll admit it! Of course jammy dodgers and raspberry creams are a total no go these days, the pain is totally not worth the pleasure, and I didn’t have the time or the inclination to try to come up with a paleoified version, but I did make these instead.

They were pretty damn good if I do say so myself.

Once the jam desire had abated I wanted something zesty and tart, ah for the days of lemon curd tarts! Instead I figured I’d lemonify the little cakes and fill them with lemon curd… My daughter saw them and came up with this piece of “art”…

Oh deary me! That’s teenagers for you. My more tasteful take is below.

I’m starting a whole30 tomorrow so I have had a complete paleo blow out this week – terrible really to still be stuck in the idea of filling up on naughty things before launching into a period of deprivation; it goes against the grain (oops paleo pun there…) of the ethos really I think, but old habits die hard.

Sunday brunch the day before whole30 had to be pancakes. I couldnt be bothered grinding up seeds for my usual pancake recipe so I decided to give the purple sweet potato flour I made the other week a go instead. Topped with lemon curd they were a deliciously decadent treat whilst still being good clean eating!

Recipes for the jam, lemon curd and cakes will be coming up on the website in the next week if I can get near a computer.  I’ll also be documenting my whole30, so if you’re interested in keeping up with how it’s going you might like to like creatively paleo on facebook or follow us on twitter or instagram or if pinterest is your thing we’re there too! Social media whores, much?!

 

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

