Vegetable Geek!

I had SUCH an exciting weekend! Whilst some might have been off hiking mountain trails, jumping out of aeroplanes, swimming along city rivers, I …. well… I went to the supermarket! “OMG! You didn’t?” “Like, WOW man!!”  Yeah… OK, not the most exciting way to spend a weekend I’ll grant you, but seriously, it was very exciting to me. Let me show you…

Now do you see? For those of you who live in more exotic places, I’ll remind you that this is a supermarket in a small, North Yorkshire town, not central London! I mean, seriously? This is beyond exciting to me! I was also very excited to use my lovely ‘shroom basket to bring home some of my goodies in. If you follow me on instagram you’ll have seen this basket in the making process. I am beside myself with pleasure when I look at it, and can’t quite believe that I managed to do such a good job of the sewing.

Isnt that a lovely sight?

But look… there’s more (said in a Jimmy Cricket style. Don’t know who Im talking about? Eek, showing my age there! Here, http://youtu.be/IC4TaV8HEzw

Fab stuff! Lots of ingredients there that Ive never used before, even though I was vegetarian for over 20 years! I definitely eat way more vegetables now than I ever did. We had samphire for the first time with kedgeree  – a family favourite that I paleoified (that will be a word in the next oxford english dictionary!) I’ve been experimenting with the artichokes today – what a stunning vegetable that is! – and there will be a recipe to follow later this week.

The rest of the veg is waiting impatiently for me to pull my finger out and use it before it starts to go off, something of a problem in a modern house in the midst of a heatwave. Talking of which, this is the first time I’ve ever known creamed coconut to liquify in the packet, but it was very handy for a lovely recipe experiment I decided to start working on at 10.30 pm the other night. More of that later, I need to work on my piping skills before I share it with you, but I’ll just say chocolate orange… I’ve also been playing with a very exciting recipe, not one of mine I’m sorry to say, but one the the very clever Tara from Primal Power developed. My children are SO delighted with it I can’t tell you – my 10 year old son actually did a happy dance before leaping on me for a hug when he saw these…

Last night I used the same dough to make pizza. Yes, actual, real, crisp, holds together without crumbling, pizza. It was a momentous occasion in our house! This recipe is bloody brilliant for those of us who have children who sometimes just want to eat “normal” food but who can’t because it just hurts too much. Tara is selling this recipe for the very good value price of $3.95 and honestly, it is well worth it, she has clearly worked really hard to develop this and could have charged way more for something this good! Seriously, go and get yourself a copy. Click here to visit Primal Power.  We used swede in our version which worked really well, and is pretty cheap right now. I will be doing further experiments with this dough and will probably be putting up some recipes in the near future that use it.

ETA: We made Enchiladas and Samosas with it! Totally bloody awesome stuff frankly!

Later this week I’m going to be sharing our path to paleo with you, and talking about a seriously inspiring lady who was partly responsible for our massive change in diet. Til then… eat your veggies  and tell me about them, I’d love to know what your favourites are and how you keep them in good shape in this weather!

TTFN

If you’re interested in keeping up with us you might like to like creatively paleo on facebook or follow us on twitter or instagram or if pinterest is your thing we’re there too! Social media whores, much?!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

