Paleo Pen Pals Swap August

I am really loving these internet pen pal swaps at the moment. I particularly loved the idea of a paleo pen pals swap, which also incorporates a recipe challenge – a bit like a  postal Ready Steady Cook!

I was paired with Diana who is from Estonia, which I was very excited about because Estonia seems like a rather exotic location to me, and I was really curious as to what she would send and how much it would differ from ingredients from the UK.

My parcel arrived in good time and inside were three ingredients – some flax seed flour, some local honey that Diana had mixed with pollen and propolis, and some cranberry flour. I had never heard of cranberry flour before, and loved that it came complete with an Estonian label.

cranberry-flour-estonian-paleo-pen-pal-swap-august

Obviously I was going to make something sweet, but it took me a little while to think just what. Eventually I decided on some biscuits, loosely based on the classic British digestive. I’ve put the recipe for these little biscuits over on my website here.

cranberry-flour-digestive-biscuits-paleo-pen-pals-swap-august

They worked really well, with the tartness of the cranberry giving them an unusual, and very moreish, flavour. I didn’t stop there though. Diana told me that she tends more towards a primal diet than strict paleo, so I decided that I would make something really delicious that she might be able to make, as a special treat for her family.

Here it is…

cranberry-flour-german-cheese-cake-recipe

This is an old family recipe of my mother’s. I’ve no idea where it came from originally, but this is something that was a special treat dessert when I was growing up. It’s a German Cheesecake and the only baking involved is if you make the biscuit base from scratch. The first time I had cheesecake in the UK I was horribly surprised, as it was a baked cheesecake and tasted nothing like how cheesecake should taste  – ie light, fluffy and not remotely cloying.

Primal Cheesecake Ingredients

For the base

For the cheesecake

  • 1 pkt lemon jelly (I’ll fess up right here and say we used a standard packet for ease, but I will have a go at making this properly primal in the near future)
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 2 oz coconut caster sugar (whizz it in a grinder until it’s dust)
  • 1/4 pt sour cream
  • 1/2 pt whipped double cream
  • 2 drops vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. Crush or crumble the digestive biscuits.
  2. Add the coconut oil and honey to the crumbs until well coated.
  3. Press the crumb mixture firmly down into the bottom of a loose bottomed flan tin.
  4. Chill for 20 minutes.
  5. Melt the jelly in 1/4 pt of boiling water.
  6. In a large bowl whip the double cream until it is nice and thick, but DON’T turn it to cheese!
  7. In another large bowl mix together the cream cheese, coconut sugar and sour cream.
  8. Beat together well until it has a lovely creamy consistency.
  9. Gradually whisk in the jelly, double cream and vanilla.
  10. Pour on to the biscuit base and leave in the fridge to set – try to leave it alone for a good couple of hours!
  11. When set very carefully run a knife around the edge of the cake before removing the cake from the tin.
  12. Serve on its own, or if you want something a bit fancier make a simple fruit sauce and top with fresh fruit (we used a cherry sauce and fresh raspberries).

We’d love to know if you try this recipe – let us know how it compares to the kind of cheesecake you’re used to.

5 thoughts on “Paleo Pen Pals Swap August

  1. Pingback: Paleo Pen Pals Roundup: August 2013 Paleo & Crossfit Adventures | GrokGrub

Leave a Reply

