Let’s Talk About Milk, Baby

I did plan on pondering about whether or not there mght be a hgher proportion of people on the autistic spectrum withn the paleo/primal community, but my brain is too scattered to do that justice right now.

Instead, following on from the brief post about a new allergy emerging yesterday ( which I suspect could have a lot to do with my feeling exhausted today) I thought I’d instead write a little bit about dairy, and more specifically milk.

Now I always feel that I’ve failed dreadfully when I attempt and don’t complete a whole30, but the one I attempted in July has really changed my life.

I have completely removed mlk from my diet. I still have cheese rather too often (this results in an itchy face) and double cream is something I have maybe once a month or so, so this is really just about removing milk. What I have noticed, and what has made an immeasurable difference to my life, is that my breathing problems, which had been happening with increasing regularity but also barely any recovery time between bouts, have (touches wood in a hopeful avoidence of tempting fate!) ceased. 

I live on a particularly steep hill which I can now climb with very little difficulty. I wake up in the morning able to take deep breathes. I have stopped having to consider how much it will take out of me if I walk around the supermarket, now I think nothing of walking to the shops and carrying bags of shopping home. I honestly cannot express how wonderful this is, because I truly thought I was going to spend the rest of my life incapacitated.

The removal of milk is the only thing that it can be. I noticed when I made my german cheesecake, which is VERY heavy on dairy, that I started to develop some tighteness in my chest, but it cleared up the next day. The only other thing that is different is that I have been doing regular (light admittedly) weight training, concentrating on my upper body, BUT I was only able to do that because my breathing had improved. I suspect it is helping to keep my chest on better health, but I can only come to the conclusion that it was my daily intake of milk (in countless cups of tea) along with yogurt for breakfast, that was doing the damage!

I will certainly not be reintroducing it in the name of science though, as on the odd occasion when I have mistakenly taken a sip of my husband’s white tea, it has had my rushing for the sink to spit it out before I vomited!

So I guess you could say that I have been a Whole30 success, in my own way!

Leave a Reply

